top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Facebook App Icon

Raise Em' Up!

It's going to be a good weekend! Saturday is the day I attend my 6th Keith Urban concert and meet him for the third time!

I have a long history with Keith Urban's music. His songs, his encouragement was there when no one else was. I wouldn't have made it where I am in life now without his story, his music or his example that it can get better. I can't tell you how many nights I would wake up in the middle of the night trying to fight off symptoms of PTSD and I would turn on a playlist of his songs and it would ground me. He would take me somewhere safe when I listened to his music and that is a priceless gift.

The first time I met him is one of the most memorable stories I have. He was playing a few show in our mall. If you were one of the first ones to buy his "Get Closer" CD at HMV in the mall the previous morning, you would win front of the line passes to this free show. So naturally, I was one of the few dedicated people sitting in the mall by 11pm the night before equip with a blanket and snacks and of course, the essential, my laptop with all Keith's songs on it. That night I met a few awesome people, including someone I've went to every Keith Urban show since with, Karen. We got a little silly with sleep deprivation around 5am-6am while waiting in the mall, so we broke out the music and started line dancing our hearts out. Finally, the store opened and we got our CD's along with our front of the lines passes. We all arranged a time to meet at the mall the next morning so we would all be together during the show and then I heading off to class. I was so excited that night that I hardly got any sleep that night either, but I showed up at the mall bright eyed and beyond excited in the morning. A few hours of hanging out and waiting in the mall, I got a phone call saying I had won passes that would take me right next to the stage! I simply couldn't believe what was happening! I ran to the mall customer service desk and picked up my passes. We finally got let in to the area Keith was going to be playing and when I realized where I was going to be standing, I lost my mind. I was literally touching the stage. When Keith came out, I was so close to him I could touch him. What an incredible time it was! Then when he was finished playing, it was time for the autograph session and because my friends and I were at the very front of the show, we got the first few autographs. When it was my turn to walk up to him, I handed him my CD as I was shaking like a leaf, he said, "What's your name sweetheart" and at the word sweetheart, I had forgotten my name for a good 30 seconds. I have that CD case sitting on my dresser and it's a daily reminder to me that life is all going to be okay.

The next concert that rolled around, there was a radio contest for backstage passes to meet Keith Urban. Of course I entered. I had to write a little letter explaining why I am a fan of Keith. I wrote up my letter by using titles of Keith's songs to string together my sentences. I found out the day before the concert that I won the meet and greet and I could bring along a friend. I'll never forget calling my friend, Karen, right after I found out. She was at work and in the middle of a meeting when she picked up my phone call and starting to scream because she was so happy I was taking her with me. The joy that came out of us that day! :D We got to the building the concert was in and picked up our backstage passes. We went down to meet him and I got really nervous and shy. When we got to him, my friend told him all about how his music saved my life and helped me so much. He looked at me and said, "I'm so glad you are here". My eyes instantly started to tear up because I can't tell you enough how much those 6 words meant to me, and still mean to me. It was a powerful connection that we shared and I will never forget the power in that moment.

Now it's time for another concert, the start of his "Raise Em' Up" tour. Of course I brought tickets with my friend Karen a long time ago. It was July 1st, Canada Day, that I got an email stating I had won a meet and greet pass to see Keith Urban before his concert. I can't tell you how estatic and excited I am! I am soon leaving to start my journey to my friend’s house, which is 1.5 hours away. Then tomorrow morning we are getting up and making our way to where the concert is going to be. What a weekend it's going to be! I can't wait to tell you all about it!

bottom of page