top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Facebook App Icon

I Close My Eyes

I close my eyes,

and remember all the lies

All I see is them,

the war has begun again.

I feel their touch and double over in pain,

as I remember being their public domain.

"Smile for the camera, it's all you've got"

I throw my fists up to battle that train of thought.

It's a losing battle all by yourself,

I want to retreat back to my shelf.

Drink a little more, numb it all out

One last blow and I'll be down for the count.

But then someone else enters the torture ring

And cuts me out of this choking sling.

He takes some of the weight right off of my back

So I no longer feel like I'm about to crack.

In this lifeless and cold place, I finally feel found.

He lay's me down and wraps himself around

my body that’s been torn up and broken

Then he listens to words I've not yet spoken.

He holds me close as his fingers gently draw

tender lines across my jaw.

Replacing memories of horrifying darkness,

Into something tender and harmless.

I close my eyes

and banish all the lies

All I see is black

the war has finally drawn back.


bottom of page